Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love rice and moong dal pongal with lots of ghee and pepper. Replacing rice with oats in this dish was bizzare thought for me! But anyways I made my mind to try it atleast once and I tried it. It was best savoury oats breakfast on my list! Try it to believe it!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

I have added some garlic in tempering which tastes like garlic chips. I have kept tempering very simple (or south-indianish!). Ghee is optional, skip it if you are on diet!

Serves two persons

Ingredients

1/2 cup yellow mung bean (yellow moong dal)

1 cup oats (I used quick cooking oats)

salt

freshly crushed pepper

For tempering

1 tbsp oil (You can use olive oil)

1 tsp ghee

1 tsp cumin seeds

3 garlic cloves (sliced)

1 red chilly (cut in small pieces)

few curry leaves

6-7 whole peppercorns

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Procedure

  • Wash and soak mung bean in excess water for 20 minutes. Pressure cook them 11/2 cup water and  few drops of oil till they are soft and nice. 
Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

  • Allow the pressure to get released from pressure cooker. Open it and add 11/2 cup of water, oats and bring it to boil and add salt and freshly crushed pepper. Boil it for 2-3 minutes and keep stirring. Put off the heat and keep aside. 
Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

  • For tempering, heat oil and ghee in a small pan. First add sliced garlic. Allow the garlic to get little brown (they should look like chips). Now add cumin ,curry leaves, peppercorns and red chilly. Mix it. After a minute or two put the heat off. Pour the tempering over oats and mung bean pongal. 
Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

  • I love pongal little runny which is easy to eat but Mr. V likes it stiff and chewy. So I serve it immediately for myself and for Mr.v, I serve it after 10-15 minutes. 

How to serve it?

Serve it with tangy, spicy pickle. I had it with mango ginger pickle from priya’s!

You can also serve it with spicy peanut chutney.

Serve it with simple coconut chutney or ginger tamarind chutney!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

Savoury oats and lentil breakfast- Oats pongal!

