Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Don’t bash me for writing a post on oats upma during christmas month. But I just can’t help it as I am hooked to it. I like to have really big breakfast every morning. I am not a porridge person! I like savoury over sweet dish. And as I am writing this post , I am thinking of tonight’s dinner. It is only 11 am! That is the side-effect of blogging about food.

Savoury oats breakfast- Vegetable oats upma!

Savoury oats breakfast- Vegetable oats upma!

Upma is actually prepared with semolina- cream of wheat or wheat rava. Replacing wheat with oats is not a bad idea. Here goes the recipe, enjoy, happy weekend!

Serves 2 persons

Ingredients

11/2 cup oats (I used quaker oats)

1 small onion (chopped)

1 medium tomato(chopped)

2-3 green chillies(chopped)

1/2 cup chopped carrot

1/2 green peas (boiled)

1/4 cup boiled sweet corn (optional)

1/4 cup boiled green beans ( I didn’t have them in my kitchen ,so I have not used it here)

1/2 tsp mustard seeds, 1/2 tsp cumin seeds

11/2 tsp lemon juice

11/2 tbsp oil (olive oil will do)

salt

21/2 cups hot vegetable stock or water

Savoury oats breakfast- Vegetable oats upma!

Savoury oats breakfast- Vegetable oats upma!

Procedure

  • Heat oil in a non-stick pan. Add mustard seeds and allow it to splutter. Then add cumin seeds and green chilies and onions. Saute till onions are tender.
  • Add tomatoes and salt. Cook for a minute. Add peas, carrots and your favorite vegetables.  Mix well. Add oats and mix well.
  • Now add 21/2 cups of hot vegetable stock with one hand while stirring with other hand (Take care that oats don’t stick so keep stirring).Cook for around 2 minutes. Don’t allow oats to become dry. Put off the heat and mix lemon juice. Allow it to rest for 2-3 minutes and serve it hot with glass of orange juice.
Savoury oats breakfast- Vegetable oats upma!

Savoury oats breakfast- Vegetable oats upma!

Note:

Serve it as soon as you prepare it as keeping too long can make it dry .

Use soft oats which are easy to cook.

