Tags

, , , , , ,

Finally , I have baked my first cake. I want to thank Mareena and Natasha for their tips and encouragement for baking. I asked  Mareena my queries before buying an oven. Thanks for proper direction and important tips on baking. Thank you Natasha for being my source of inspiration for baking.

Dark chocolate cake

Dark chocolate cake

I have been searching for simplest chocolate recipe. I wanted to watch a video before actually doing it. I watched sanjeev kapoor video for chocolate fudge cake. I followed the recipe. Except that  I have taken half of all ingredients as I wanted smaller cake and I have used white powdered sugar instead of brown demerara sugar. I am completely satisfied with my first cake. I could not wait for proper pictures. This picture is all I have got.

This recipe is adapted from chocolate fudge cake by Sanjeev Kapoor (video)

Ingredients

3/4 cup all purpose flour(maida)

3/4 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup powdered sugar

75 gm Unsalted butter

70 gm dark chocolate ( I used 85% cocoa chocolate)

2 whole eggs

1 tsp vanilla essence

3 tbsp hung yogurt

Dark chocolate cake

Dark chocolate cake

Procedure

  • Sieve the flour and baking powder in big mixing bowl.
  • Microwave chocolate on high for 30-45 seconds.
  • Mix the melted butter and sugar until light and fluffy. This process is called creaming. Add vanila essence to it.
  • Beat the eggs in separate bowl until they are 3 times the volume. Add them to butter and sugar mixture and mix and combine nicely.
  • Mix the melted dark chocolate with hung yogurt.
  • Combine flour mixture, dark chocolate mixture and butter+sugar+egg mixture. Fold into the flour to form smooth cake batter.
  • Preheat oven to 190deg.
  • Pour the cake batter into greased cake tin. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 190 deg.
  • Use the spoon or tooth prick to check whether cake is cooked or not. If spoon comes out clear, it is cooked else bake for 3-4 more minutes
  • Allow the cake to cool down for 8-10 minutes before removing it from tin.

Tip: Add 2 tbsp of milk if the batter is becoming dry.

I served with a spoon of melted dark chocolate and powdered sugar sprinkled over.

Dark chocolate cake

Dark chocolate cake

