Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have been trying out some new ideas and recipes with spinach. My three favourite foods spinach, yogurt and oranges makes a good combination. After having a spoon of this raita, I was sure of one thing, ‘I am going to prepare this again’.

Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

I have sauteed the spinach here as I am not fond of raw spinach. I have tried it with pomegranate and pineapple instead of orange. But for me, with orange it tasted best.

Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

Here goes the recipe.

Serves 2 persons

Ingredients

1 cup spinach (shreded or cut in thin and long trips)

1 orange

11/2 cup plain yogurt

little orange zest

1/2 tsp cumin powder

1 tsp chat masala

salt

3/4 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp chilly powder

1 tsp olive oil

Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

Procedure

  • Heat oil in a pan. Add shredded spinach. Saute only for a minute. Remove it in a dish and allow it to cool down.
  • Gently beat yogurt in a bowl. Add salt, sugar, cumin powder, chat masala, orange zest and mix well.
  • Peel the orange, remove the skin and break orange pieces into small pieces with hand and put them in yogurt mixture. Add sauteed spinach. Mix it and sprinkle chilly powder over raita and serve with pilaf or parathas.
Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

Spinach and orange yogurt salad- Raita!

